I’ve Joined Connectbeam, and Social Media Got Me the Job


On Wednesday August 13, I start my new job as Senior Product Manager for Connectbeam. Connectbeam provides social bookmarking and networking to the enterprise. The goal is to foster better information management and discovery, and to connect colleagues around projects and common interests.

Going a bit further, here is a note from privately-held Connectbeam’s about page:

Connectbeam’s architecture and core application (Spotlight) were designed to help people in any role, across the enterprise, connect with both the growing pool of information and colleagues with the expertise and experience to help them get their jobs done more intelligently and more quickly. We enable this by aggregating the social metadata that is generated naturally by using the web into a single repository that everyone in the company can access and use.

Current customers include: Procter & Gamble, CSC, Bristol-Myers Squibb, Honeywell, 3M, Intel, Pfizer and Booz Allen Hamilton.

Why Connectbeam?

The problem Connectbeam is tackling greatly interests me. How to manage information to make individuals smarter, help people find information and determine the ways in which common interests establish and build relationships. There are many posts on this blog along those lines. Here are six of them:

  1. FriendFeed ‘Likes’ Compatibility Index
  2. Hey Yahoo! Forget MSFT, GOOG. Change the Search Rules.
  3. Who Is Your Information Filter?
  4. Knowledge & Innovation: The Journey Is as Valuable as the Destination
  5. Tag Recommendations for Content: Ready to Filter Noise?
  6. Social Media Consumption: You Want Signal or Discovery?

I also like Connectbeam’s delivery model. I am a fan of cloud computing, and in my experiences at eFinance and Pay By Touch, customers got comfortable. But I also ran into companies that only wanted applications behind their firewall, which is what we sold at BEA Systems. Security, control and reliability are still important, and recent outages at Amazon S3 and Gmail highlight those concerns. Connectbeam runs as an appliance behind companies’ firewalls.

Connectbeam delivers its model as an integration with existing search engines and other applications. For instance, Connectbeam now has an integration with Microsoft’s SharePoint, the most pervasive collaboration software out there. The Microsoft SharePoint Senior Technical PM even tweeted about it.

I’m a big believer in the ability of enterprises to improve the ways that information is created, disseminated and managed by employees. Those that get this right will be better-positioned in our information-centric economy.

FriendFeed Has Opened My Eyes

I joined BEA Systems to do product marketing for enterprise 2.0. Prior to that, I had done a little tweeting and had a Facebook profile. But not a whole lot of social media. I started blogging in February to eat my own dog food when I was marketing web 2.0 to companies. I needed to immerse myself in the world to really understand it.

Well, blogging has become quite important for me. FriendFeed has become just as important.

FriendFeed opened my eyes to the possibilities of knowledge as the basis of relationships. The ways in which content from a variety of sources is a powerful, addictive basis for learning, conversations and collaboration. How activity streams are compelling reads. I’ve been active on FriendFeed since March, and it shocks me how much I know about web 2.0 and technology in general versus last year. I’ve still got much to learn, and FriendFeed will continue to be a good source for that.

So why can’t companies get better around that too? Having eaten my own dog food on FriendFeed, I’m ready to work with employees and companies to improve the ways in which information is created, tracked and shared.

How Social Media Got Me the Job

You’ve probably seen more than a few posts saying that today’s resume is your Google search results. Your social network sites, content, updates, what others say about you…all of it is searchable.

Like me, Connectbeam CEO Puneet Gupta subscribes to Google Alerts for “enterprise 2.0”. Well one of my blog posts was listed in an alert. It caught Puneet’s attention, so he read the blog a bit more. Liking what he saw, he then investigated my name out on the web. Among the sites he found was one where I was a recommended blogger to follow (thanks Daryl, Franklin, Louis, Mark, Mike, Rob, Steven). Those recommendations were in part made due to the wonderful effects FriendFeed has for bloggers.

It didn’t hurt that I had been involved with enterprise 2.0 at BEA Systems. So after doing some due diligence, he left this comment on my blog:

Hutch:
Would love to connect with you and discuss some ideas.

I reached out to him, did some interviews, and the rest is history.

Looking Ahead

The new job will give me a more structured basis for looking at the ways in which information is managed. I plan to look more deeply at some of the consumer social bookmarking sites.I’m a product manager for Connectbeam, but a lot of my job will involve product marketing too.

I expect working in this area will influence my blogging subjects some. But I’ll blog about other fun stuff along the way as well.

Gotta go – my commute is from San Francisco to Mountain View. Need to battle the 101 traffic.

*****

If you want an easy way to stay on top of Enterprise 2.0, I invite you to join the Enterprise 2.0 Room on FriendFeed. The room takes feeds for Enterprise 2.0-related items on Twitter, Del.icio.us and SlideShare. To see this room, click here: http://friendfeed.com/rooms/enterprise-2-0

*****

See this post on FriendFeed: http://friendfeed.com/search?q=%22I%E2%80%99ve+Joined+Connectbeam%2C+and+Social+Media+Got+Me+the+Job%22&public=1

About Hutch Carpenter
Chief Scientist Revolution Credit

25 Responses to I’ve Joined Connectbeam, and Social Media Got Me the Job

  1. Congrats. I was actually on the board of advisors for Connectbeam for a short period of time, you’re going to a great place.

  2. Rob Diana says:

    Cool! Congratulations! FriendFeed is starting to have indirect influences into other things. This is really important to watch, as influence can be much more powerful than just getting a bunch of users.

  3. Niall Cook says:

    Congratulations, from your friends and competitors at http://www.cogenz.com.

  4. Susie says:

    Awesome! Hope you’re enjoying your first day 🙂

    My Google results recently landed me a super cool job as well. It’s such a great feeling to actually have people come to YOU and tell you they like you!

  5. eng1ne says:

    Congrats Hutch! Good jeorb!

  6. Hao Chen says:

    Awesome. Congrats!

  7. Hutch, that’s great! I love ConnectBeam and am really happy you’re going there!! Have a great time!

  8. Louis Gray says:

    Nice job, Mister! Congratulations.

    Of course, if they see you posted Wednesday, August 12th, instead of the 13th, they might have to reconsider their offer! 🙂

    Glad to know your blog and social media played a role, but I know you earned it on your own.

  9. Shey says:

    Awesome Hutch!

  10. Becca says:

    Congrats, Hutch!!

  11. mellyreed says:

    My congratulations as well! God bless you.

  12. excellent news Hutch and I’m very glad for you.

  13. Jody Carbone says:

    Congrats Hutch! Very exciting.

  14. Puneet Gupta says:

    Hutch:
    It is simply great to have you onboard.
    Also, I’d like to take this opportunity to say hi to Jeremiah and Marshall. You were ahead of the pack in realizing the value and impact of our solution. It has been a pleasure to get to know you.

    To the rest of the community, the end of summer and begining of this Fall is going to bring some exciting times as you’ll see things unfold at Connectbeam where we continue down our path of innovation and leading the market.
    If you are wondering just sit back for another few weeks, and in the meantime if you’d like to go back in time and think of some context – a good place to reminisce about would be the words of the Gipper at the 1984 GOP convention –
    You Aint Seen Nothin’ Yet!

  15. I’m happy for you Hutch – you’re a good guy and I really love to see good things happen to good people. Connectbeam sounds extremely exciting and I’m sure you’ll have a great time working there.

  16. vanderwal says:

    Congratulations to you, Connectbeam is doing some really good things.

  17. Pingback: Lessons Forced on Me by Life and Early Adoption - Regular Geek

  18. Daryl Tay says:

    Great news, Hutch! Very thrilled for you! Couldn’t have happened to someone more deserving!

  19. Thank you everyone. First day under my belt, and I didn’t break anything. Off to a good start.

  20. Pingback: Unique-Frequency.com » Blog Archive » Social Media Helps Land Another Job

  21. Christien says:

    Fantastic success story. Congratulations and keep us posted!

  22. Pingback: How Would Social Media Help You in Your Job? « I’m Not Actually a Geek

  23. Pingback: Riding Coach: A Day in the TechCrunch50 DemoPit « I’m Not Actually a Geek

  24. Pingback: Following Up On The Value of Noise | Unusual Fellow

  25. mobil bekas says:

    Congrats,
    and thanks for share your idea bout social media. after reading your article it really enlighten me about the power of social media, blogging, and internet

Leave a comment