When Your Blog Is LouisGrayCrunched…


Start-ups can go through the Slashdot Effect, the Digg Effect or be TechCrunched. Well, five blogs were LouisGrayCrunched on yesterday.

Louis Gray is a top blogger in the tech world. He covers a lot of good tech topics, perhaps best known for his early and bullish coverage of FriendFeed. Which has borne out quite well. But it’s not like he just plopped some cool blog posts and the world beat down his door. He was like most of us little bloggers! See his post here for background. Money quote: In early 2007,

Writing for my seeming one-person audience was at times frustrating.

Through perseverance, skill, finding his blog’s voice, and a bit of Scoble intervention, he slowly emerged over time to the big time blogger he is now. Basically, he figured it out.

So it’s no surprise he took the trouble to recognize 5 blogs yesterday in his post Five More Blogs You Should Be Reading, But Aren’t. See, he’s been there: “Not being one of the Silicon Valley elite, I’ve always had a soft spot for ‘the little guy’.” This attitude extends not only to promising start-ups, but to bloggers as well. He’s giving back to the blogger community.

The five blogs he recommended in his post:

  1. Charlie Anzman / SEO and Tech Daily (anzman.blogspot.com)
  2. Hutch Carpenter [uh..me] / I’m Not Actually a Geek (bhc3.wordpress.com)
  3. Eric Berlin / Online Media Cultist ( onlinemediacultist.com)
  4. Mia Dand / Marketing Mystic (marketingmystic.typepad.com)
  5. Carlo Maglinao / TechBays (techbays.com)

I didn’t know any of these folks before his post (see! even us little guys don’t do a good job of finding our peers!). But after being listed with them in his post, I suddenly feel some fraternity with them. The Louis Gray April 2008 Five.

I’m now a subscriber to my four other cohorts, via Toluu of course.

Some other notes from being LouisGrayCrunched…

Direct Site Hits. This blog hot six times its usual volume. It got 161 hits for the day directly from Louis’s site. Just as interesting to me were the FriendFeed hits – 41 of them. People are checking out Louis’s FriendFeed for discovery of new stuff. And there was nice discussion around his various activity streams. The blog also got a push from being one of the 7 fastest growing blogs on WordPress for several hours. 79 hits actually. Didn’t realize folks checked out that category so much.

Syndicated Site Views. WordPress doesn’t keep stats of RSS subscribers to your blog. But it does track syndicated views for each post. My top blog post for the day was The Best Blogs You’re Not Reading? Toluu Knows. Half of the post’s 250 hits were via syndication. I assume some of that syndication is through an RSS reader. A blog post about subscribing to new blogs ends up being viewed by a lot of new subscribers…coincidence?

The Rush. I won’t deny it. There was a rush to today’s action. I imagine big-time bloggers – like Michael Arrington, Robert Scoble – are interested in the mass traffic they get, but do not get a daily rush from seeing it. But if your little blog gets a one-day explosion of traffic, then yeah, you’re thrilled.

The Expectations. I do feel a bit different now than I did yesterday. A vague sense of responsibility to keep up the standards here. Louis actually expressed a similar sentiment in a blog post. It’s not a problem. I’m sure I’ll have some posts that folks will really like and a few duds too . Stick with me – it’ll be worth it.

Blogging Karma. In a post from a few days ago, The First 20 Blog Posts Are the Easiest, I talked about blogging karma:

Share the blogging love. Add new blogs to your RSS reader. Add links to interesting posts on other blogs. Post on others’ blogs. Add others’ posts to LinkRiver, del.icio.us, StumbleUpon, etc. And do it for the smaller bloggers, not just the A-list. This is something I need to improve on.

Thanks for sharing the love Louis.

<div style=”display:none;”>1548549564</div>

About Hutch Carpenter
Chief Scientist Revolution Credit

14 Responses to When Your Blog Is LouisGrayCrunched…

  1. Louis Gray says:

    I’m biased… but I really like this story. Not only did you get excited about the additional traffic, but you went out and did research, finding I’m right to not get a swelled head over any of this stuff. I’m still “one of you guys”, not any kind of big shot. You got called out because the topics you cover are extremely interesting, the writing is good, and intelligently done – not to inflate a post count or readers, but because you really care. Don’t change that at all.

  2. I guess I’m biased too because I returned home yesterday to find myself at the top of this list. Unexpected, but somehow it felt better then umpteen Diggs! I won’t go into the stats here, but suffice to say the difference between a review like this and a ‘vote’ somewhere is new SUBSCRIBERS, rather than here today – gone tomorrow readers.

  3. Mia says:

    Hi there,
    I was pondering over the weekend if my blog adds any value, given the gazillion blogs out there all clamoring to be ‘heard’. So it was very cool to be recognized by someone like Louis Gray and I feel more energized than ever to continue (blogging). Thanks to him, I’ve also discovered gems like your blog 🙂
    Cheers,
    Mia

  4. Louis has done a great job – and there are thousands of amazing bloggers out there who are undiscovered. It’s like the music industry.

  5. Rob says:

    So under 500 hits for the day? That seems pretty low, imho.

    Would love to hear your Techmeme stats after today. 🙂

  6. Dennis says:

    And now even featured at Techmeme.com

    Congrats…

  7. bhc3 says:

    Thanks everyone for your comments. Louis – can’t believe this hit Techmeme. Just what is the secret sauce over there? It was a thrill. And thanks Dennis for the Techmeme shout-out.

    Charlie, Mia – this has been a fun week, no? I’m now checking out you guys every day in my blog. I have you guys in my general technology folder on my Google Reader, and I created a special folder to track all 5 of us separately.

    Darren – you’re right. Louis is on to something a little different from other bloggers. He writes about the new technologies and companies (quite well) like TechCrunch or Scoble might. But he also calls out emergent blogs too. That’s really different from most big bloggers.

    Rob – the direct site hits yesterday after Louis’ post were 664 that WordPress counted (which was a new high for the blog). There were also many more syndicated, so I think the total unique visitors were in the 800-900 range.

    Techmeme today was also huge. This post was up for 4 1/2 hours, and Techmeme sent 352 visitors. And today was a new high in the number of direct site visitors, 828. A real nice two days, and now things will calm down a good bit.

    Hopefully some of those visitors will return! 🙂

  8. Dennis says:

    It must have been a thrill seeing your traffic grow like that.
    This is what keeps me going to write great content or experiment with new ways to draw in traffic.

    I’m not sure if you ever found out how Stumble Upon can get you great numbers of new visitors in a couple of hours… But if you have good content that’s being stumbled, tagged right, you can see the next stage in growth of the traffic of your blog.

    I started to experiment now with new ways of creating content combining my hobby, photography, with the web.
    I have to say, it’s exiting and gives me great pleasure to see the traffic grow.

    Keep up the good work, and hope to see more great stuff on your blog…

    Cheers

    Dennis

  9. bhc3 says:

    Thanks Dennis! Re: StumbleUpon…I’ve never really gotten much traffic from that site. There are some who have a real knack for generating interest from StumbleUpon. FriendFeed, believe it or not, is becoming a decent traffic source.

    And, I know what you mean on seeing growth in visits to your blog. It’s been fun engaging folks around the world. Much more than I ever expected from doing this.

  10. Hutch – It was fun! More to come 🙂

  11. Pingback: Internet Share information » Blog Archive » Five Social Media Bloggers to Watch This May

  12. Pingback: Where’s The Damn Paparazzi? | website design | usability and accessibility | social media | online marketing | fog of eternity

  13. Pingback: My God, I Actually Am a Geek - My Blog’s First Anniversary « I’m Not Actually a Geek

  14. RaiulBaztepo says:

    Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

Leave a comment